UPDATE: With polls now closed, click here to view race results as they come in.

Polls opened at 7 a.m. across Mississippi for the June 7 primary election, which will narrow the fields of candidates for Democratic and Republican candidates for U.S. House of Representatives.

Mississippi has four congressional districts: northeastern Mississippi, two in central Mississippi and one in south Mississippi. District lines changed slightly this year, following population changes indicated by the 2020 Census.

Republican incumbents in Districts 1, 3 and 4 had at least two Republican rivals, and in the case of District 4’s Steven Palazzo, six challengers hoped to unseat the incumbent to move on to the November general election.

Mississippi’s lone Democratic Congressman District 2’s Bennie Thompson faced one Democratic rival. Thompson, who chairs the congressional committee that is investigating the Jan. 6, 2020, events that unfolded in Washington, D.C., is the state’s longest-serving incumbent. He first took office in 1993.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.