Georgia State University – Lewis College – Research Conference

Nicole Jacob and Haeun Jin, both undergraduate nursing students, captured the initial first-place award for undergraduates in the seventh annual Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions Research Conference. Jacob and Jin presented timely research on “the Effect of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Nurses’ Burnout.” The conference opened to undergraduate researchers for the first time in 2022 and awarded prizes at three academic levels.

Doctor of nursing practice student Semere Araya took first place in the master’s/clinical doctorate category for his work on “Strategies for Recruiting Young African American Men for Stroke Prevention Research.”

Hannah Lail, a Ph.D. student in chemistry with a nutrition concentration, placed first in the Ph.D. category with her research “Methionine Restriction Affects Metabolic Parameters in a Fibroblast Growth Factor 21 and Sex-Dependent Manner.”

Nearly 70 Lewis College students presented 35 research posters in person, a change from the 2020 and 2021 conferences, held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The 2022 conference also featured a keynote speaker for the first time, Dr. Karen Minyard, director of the Georgia Health Policy Center in the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies.

Student research teams at each level also placed second and third. They are:

Ashley Lombres, nursing, placed second in the undergraduate category in a tie with Emily Price, B.S. student in nutrition. Jessica Brown and Logan Gordon, physical therapy students, placed second in the master’s/clinical doctorate category, and Rami Najjar, a previous winner and Ph.D. in chemistry with a concentration in nutrition, also placed second.

Third place recipients were Debbie Noble Lanham, a doctor of nursing practice student and Maureen Meister, a Ph.D. student in chemistry with a concentration in nutrition. Due to the tie at second place, there was no 3rd place team in the undergraduate category.

A four-member team of doctor of physical therapy students, Javan Francis, Andie Daniell, Lilly Khoklan and Jenny Tran, took home the People’s Choice Award with 135 votes.

View the complete proceeding with research abstracts here.

Source link

By admin