Today, Planned Parenthood Advocates of Wisconsin (PPAWI) announced its third round of legislative endorsements, consisting of a selection of candidates trusted to utilize their platforms and voices to push for the protection of reproductive rights for all Wisconsinites. Now more than ever, legislative action in Wisconsin is vital. With the result of the Supreme Court’s decision to overturn Roe v. Wade, the threat of enforcement of Wisconsin’s criminal abortion ban has forced Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin and other providers to suspend abortion services and created fear in the medical community. Patients are now being referred to neighboring states and confusion about the law is putting people’s lives at risk.

With no Federal Constitutional protections, the role of the legislature in determining the future of reproductive freedoms in Wisconsin is more critical than ever, and those being endorsed are champions for protecting access to the full scope of reproductive freedoms in Wisconsin.

Statement from Steven Webb, Director of Organizing at Planned Parenthood Advocates of Wisconsin

“PPAWI is excited to announce our third slate of legislative endorsements. Legislative action is vital for the reproductive rights of Wisconsinites and we are proud to endorse pro-choice candidates. Reproductive rights in Wisconsin have been threatened by legislative inaction, as well as the overturning of Roe v. Wade. Wisconsin Republicans have displayed nothing but disregard for the lives of 3.1 million people at risk of losing access to safe and legal abortion care, betraying Wisconsinites statewide. The outdated criminal abortion ban is oppressive, and when given the chance to repeal the abortion ban days before the Dobbs decision, Wisconsin Republicans ignored Governor Evers call for a Special Session. The current federal status of reproductive rights has now placed the power to choose in the hands of the Wisconsin state legislature.”


The following incumbents are candidates that Planned Parenthood Advocates of Wisconsin (PPAWI) has selected for its third slate of legislative endorsements:



Jeff Smith – District 31

Chris Larson – District 7

Tim Carpenter – District 3



Lee Snodgrass – District 57

Samba Baldeh – District 48

Christine Sinicki – District 20

Supreme Moore-Omokunde – District 17

Marisabel Cabrera – District 9

Deb Andraca – District 23

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *