Square Enix and People Can Fly have announced Outriders Worldslayer, an expansion to 2021’s chaotic looter shooter, will launch this June.

Outriders Worldslayer pushes the action into the further reaches of the world of Enoch, to regions where frost storms and blizzards have coated the landscape with snow and ice. This is the setting for Worldslayer’s new campaign, which sees the leader of the human insurgence faction, the incredibly powerful Ereshkigal, plotting her own future for humans on Enoch.

The expansion’s campaign features new additions to all of the key aspects of Outriders; there’s new zones, enemies and enemy variants, two new five-piece legendary armor sets per class, new multiclass three-piece legendary armor sets, weapons, and mods. In total, Worldslayer adds almost 100 new Legendary items across armor, weapons, and mods.

All of this can be played by existing players with powerful characters, but brand new players can get straight into Worldslayer by using a Level 30 Boost to bring a fresh character up to the required level for the campaign. This boost can be used as many times as you want to create several different level 30 characters.

The flagship changes, though, come in the form of new progression paths. The Power of the PAX opens up a secondary skill tree, which provides two new subclass branches for each of Outriders’ four classes (Devastator, Pyromancer, Trickster, and Technomancer). Beyond that is the Path to Ascension, a new long term progression system. After hitting level 30, all XP goes towards Ascension, which has 200 points to unlock and has been designed to support hundreds of hours of play. People Can Fly note that this progression will improve things like endurance, anomaly, and brutality, so it sounds like Path to Ascension will help build up fundamental character stats.

Outriders Worldslayer trailer screenshots

Worldslayer will also make changes to Outrider’s escalating endgame difficulty system by replacing Challenge Tiers with ‘Apocalypse Tiers’. These go up to level 40, and are considered an ‘informal’ New Game+ system. That increase is accompanied by a new, higher level cap of 75 for gear. And talking of gear, Apocalypse Tiers also open up the potential for grabbing Apocalypse-grade gear, which provides a third mod slot to help tailor the weapon to your ideal specification.

That progression system sounds like it’ll take you far beyond a playthrough of a new campaign, which is likely why a whole new endgame has been created for Worldslayer. Very little has been announced about this aside from a name, Trial of Tarya Gratar, although more information has been promised at a later date.

Outriders Worldslayer will be available on June 30, 2022. It will launch as a digital upgrade for existing players, or as an all-in-one pack with the original game and expansion.

For more, check out our Outriders review and our Expeditions guide for anyone looking to buff their characters up ahead of the expansion.

Matt Purslow is IGN’s UK News and Features Editor.

Source link

By admin

Malcare WordPress Security