The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Richmond Raceway was set by applying the statistical formula NASCAR is using for the majority of its 2021 races.

Drivers’ starting positions for the Toyota Owners 400 (3 p.m. ET; Fox, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Driver’s finishing position from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Team owner points ranking (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying and practice for just eight Cup Series races in the 2021 season. Six races in that group remain, starting with the May 23 event at Circuit of the Americas, a road course outside Austin, Texas.

Below is the starting lineup, which was set without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR race on the 0.75-mile track at Richmond Raceway.

Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Richmond?

Martin Truex Jr. is the polesitter for Sunday’s race based on NASCAR’s mathematical formula. Truex won last weekend’s rain-delayed race at Martinsville Speedway, making him the only multiple-race winner in the Cup Series after eight races in 2021.

Denny Hamlin, Truex’s Joe Gibbs Racing teammate, will start second. Hamlin is the series points leader despite not having won yet this year. He has seven top-five finishes in eight races. Hamlin led more than half the 500 laps at Martinsville but his car faded late and Truex took the checkered flag. Hamlin finished third as Chase Elliott rallied for a second-place finish.

The rest of the top 10 for the race at Richmond: Elliott, William Byron, Joey Logano, Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Christopher Bell, Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch.

NASCAR starting lineup at Richmond

The starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Richmond Raceway was determined through a mathematical formula NASCAR adopted late in the 2020 season. The formula produced this starting lineup for the Toyota Owners 400 without qualifying:

DriverCar No.Team
Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
Joey Logano22Team Penske
Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs Racing
Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
Bubba Wallace2323XI Racing
Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
Daniel Suarez99TrackHouse Racing
James Davison15Rick Ware Racing
Anthony Alfredo38Front Row Motorsports
Erik Jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
Cody Ware51Petty Ware Racing
Justin Haley77Spire Motorsports
BJ McLeod78Live Fast Motorsports
Corey LaJoie7Spire Motorsports
Garrett Smithley53Rick Ware Racing
Austin Cindric33Team Penske

Source link