NASCAR is heading for a big short on Sunday.

Martin Truex Jr. became the first repeat winner in the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series after taking home the Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 500 at Martinsville last weekend. Now, Truex has the opportunity to win back-to-back races at the Toyota Owners 500 at Richmond Raceway on Sunday.

While the coronavirus pandemic axed the event in 2020, Truex took home the checkered flag in 2019, making him the defending race winner entering Sunday’s race at the short track. While Truex sits in pole position, he has some stiff competition at the front, with Denny Hamlin still in search of his first win of the 2021 season despite seven top-10 finishes.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and lap-by-lap highlights from NASCAR’s race at Richmond Raceway on Sunday. Follow for complete results from the Toyota Owners 400.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

(All times Eastern)

NASCAR at Richmond live updates, highlights

3:17 p.m.: Denny Hamlin scuffles off the start, but recovers for third. Truex Jr., Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney round out the early one-through-five.

3:10 p.m.: All systems go with no pre-race drama today. Few minutes to green flag.

NASCAR start time today

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Richmond Raceway is scheduled to wave at 3:15 p.m. ET.

It’s unlikely that weather will delay the start. The National Weather Service’s midweek forecast for Richmond, Va., called for partly sunny skies and a high temperature near 70 degrees, the capper to a dry weekend.  

NASCAR lineup at Richmond

Here is the complete starting lineup for the Toyota Owners 400 without qualifying:

DriverCar No.Team
Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
Joey Logano22Team Penske
Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs Racing
Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
Bubba Wallace2323XI Racing
Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
Daniel Suarez99TrackHouse Racing
James Davison15Rick Ware Racing
Anthony Alfredo38Front Row Motorsports
Erik Jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
Cody Ware51Petty Ware Racing
Justin Haley77Spire Motorsports
BJ McLeod78Live Fast Motorsports
Corey LaJoie7Spire Motorsports
Garrett Smithley53Rick Ware Racing
Austin Cindric33Team Penske

Source link